The Pelsall Community Association (PCA) was formed on 1st July 1946. The original committee was charged with providing the village with a hall to serve all sections of the community.
It took nineteen years for the dream to become a reality. Nineteen years of hard, frustrating work by dedicated villagers to raise funds and find a suitable site.
The site in Station Road once housed a large house called 'Oaklands'. This, with its extensive grounds was acquired by Aldridge Council in 1956, but, it was not until 1962 that they were persuaded by local councillors and the Association to demolish the house, and sell off part of the land at the rear for house building (now Oaklands Way).
Part of the remaining parcel of land was made available for the Community Centre, with the remaining being made into a Bowling Green and Tennis Courts. Facilities that are enjoyed by the community to this day.
It must be acknowledged that the former 'Aldridge Urban District Council's' contribution to the project was very generous and without its support it may not have come to fruition.
With the construction of the building underway, the committee had to consider ways of funding the fixtures and fittings, as well as the day to day running costs. To this end a tote was organised which ran successfully until 1974.
The building was completed in 1965 at a cost of £24,521, 14 shillings and threepence, it was officially opened on the 4th September 1965 by Sir Alfred Owen CBE. Chairman and joint Managing Director of the Rubery Owen Engineering Group and Chairman of the PCA at the time.
The centre was extended in 1974, with the addition of the Oaklands Lounge & Bar.
Today The Community Centre stands as a lasting and fitting memorial to the many who laboured over many long years to fulfil a dream.